Motor Vehicles

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: House Bill 386 - New Title Tax Goes into Effect on 3/1/2013

During the 2012 Georgia General Assemby, House Bill 386 passed and becomes effective on March 1, 2013. This new law removes the Sales Tax and the annual Ad Valorem (Birthday) tax on newly-purchased vehicles. It replaces these taxes with a new Title Tax of 6.5% in 2013 and 6.75% in 2014.

If you purchase a vehicle on or after March 1, 2013, you will pay the new title tax to the tag agent in the county in which you register the vehicle (your county of residence). Payment is due when you apply for the title and register the vehicle.

If you purchase a vehicle between January 1, 2012 and February 28, 2013, you will have the option of paying the the new title tax instead of the current annual Ad Valorem birthday tax. You have from March 1, 2013 until December 2013 to opt in to the new program. After 2013, the opt-in window is closed.

Vehicles purchased out of state are not eligible to opt in. The new title tax is based on a percentage of the fair market value (FMV) of the vehicle as determined by the Georgia Department of Revenue, not the Sales Price. The new title tax is not due every year but is due each time the vehicle is titled to a new owner. It applies to dealer sales as well as sales between individuals

You will continue to pay the annual Ad Valorem tax on vehicle(s) that you currently own. All other existing annual vehicle registration requirements, including annual tag renewal fees, decals, etc. remain in effect for all vehicle owners.

 

As of July 1, 2007 you must have a Georgia Drivers license or ID in order to register your vehicle in Georgia.

 

New residents to Georgia must have the following documents in order to register a vehicle:

Vehicle With No Lien

1. Out of State Title
2. Current Registration from Previous State
3. Proof of Georgia Insurance
4. Georgia Drivers License with Lowndes County Address
5. Current Mileage

Vehicle With Lien

  1. Loan Agreement with Complete Name and Address of Lien Holder
  2. T-17 Affidavit of Lien Holder (available at tag office)
  3. Proof of Georgia Insurance
  4. Georgia Drivers License with Lowndes County Address
  5. Current Mileage

Taxes

Taxes on Motor Vehicles are due on the owner?s birth date. Vehicles owned by a business pay tax based on the first letter of the Business name. The tax is based on the 40% value of the vehicle. Taxes are due on a vehicle, even when the vehicle is not in use.

Fees

Tag Fee for passenger vehicles and trucks weighing up to 14,000 loaded $20.00

Title Transfer Fee

$18.00

Trailer Tag Fee

$12.00*

Replacement Tag, Decal, or Title

  $8.00

*Trailers with a gross vehicle weight of less than 2,000 pounds are not required to be titled in Georgia. The previous registration is required.

Trucks with a gross vehicle weight over 14,000 (Truck and load) fees are based on the weight.

Back to Top

Vehicle Tag Renewals

Vehicle Tag Renewals can be processed by mail by completing the renewal form received in the mail and returning it to the Tax Commissioners Office or bringing this form to the office. Renewals must be made on or before the birth date of the primary owner when owned by an individual, or the last day of the month for a business.Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve the penalty.

The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date.

We accept check, cash, Visa, or Master Card for payments of Tag Renewals.

Online Tag Renewals

You may also renew your tag online at http://www.dor.ga.gov/. For security purposes, you must have an Internet Security Identification Number (RIN) which is located on the renewal notice above the block that contains "A message from your Tax Commissioner".

The telephone number for the tag office is 229-671-2579. The office is located in the Lowndes County Governmental Building,300 N. Patterson Street, Valdosta, Georgia. Office hours are Monday ? Friday 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. The drive thru is open until 6:00 p.m.

For further information regarding vehicle registration please visit the State of Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Website http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/

Back to Top